MagazineLife.net has Good Taste, for a Thief

Pin It

Update Jan 3: When I looked at 7:30am this morning, the MagazineLife.net was off-line. Kudos to Dreamhost (and all those that notified them) for taking swift action!! I will freely admit to taking a significant amount of pleasure from seeing these sites shut down.

Sigh… splogger’s suck. What is a “splog”? Why it’s a “spam blog” — a blog that shamelessly steals content and reposts it as their own. Typically these sites are chocked full of AdSense adds, affiliate links, or some other way to generate revenue for the thief.

In other words, these lowlifes use content written by others for their own financial gain.

One called MagazineLife.net popped up yesterday, swiping dozens of posts from here and many others across the real estate blogiverse. I must say that they chose some excellent blogs to steal from — Kris Berg, Rain City Guide, Bloodhound, Jim Duncan, Jonathan Miller, Condo Blog — to name a few.

These asshats take a URL like “PhoenixRealEstateGuy.com/Amazing-Post” and rename it to “MagazineLife.net/Amazing-Post”. Of course they are too stupid to change internal links — which result in pingbacks to the real author’s blog — thereby alerting them to the theft and leaving a wide open bread crumb trail right back to the violator’s abode. How idiotic is that?

So steal this post oh great twerps running MagazineLife.net. In the mean time, emails have already been sent to your host and Google (the host may actually do something. Sadly, Google doesn’t ever seem to care), and I’ll be working on a formal DMCA notice. Fortunately I have a good DMCA template from the last time we shut one of these numbskulls down.

By the way, if anyone is ever looking for information on how to stop Internet plagiarism, you must stop by Plagiarism Today — it is jammed full of incredibly helpful information and Johnathan Bailey is a Prince among men.

.

[tags]Splogs, sploggers suck, DMCA, Plagiarism Today[/tags]

Like, Tweet, share...

Pin It

 

Other things you can do...

Search for Homes
Email Updates
RSS

About the Author
Jay Thompson

I'm a real estate broker in Phoenix, Arizona and the publisher of the Phoenix Real Estate Guy blog. I tend to drive too fast and scream at the University of Texas and Denver Broncos football teams. My two kids are smarter than most adults I know and my wife is simply amazing.

The Phoenix Real Estate Guy runs on AgentPress

AgentPress is a specialized WordPress theme for real estate agents and brokers, powered by the industry standard Genesis Framework. With AgentPress on your team, you're empowered to get the most out of WordPress for online marketing.

Genesis provides the secure and search-engine-optimized foundation that powers any successful website. And AgentPress provides the specific listing and lead-generation functionality real estate pros need to succeed.

Find out more about AgentPress here.

Comments

We always appreciate your comments! Phoenix Real Estate Guy uses two commenting systems, Facebook and LiveFyre. LiveFyre is the most robust system (and easy to use!). It allows you to login with Twitter, Facebook, Google+ LinkedIn, OpenId, LiveFyre and as a "Guest". I recommend getting a LiveFyre account, it has some great features (just click the LiveFyre button when you write your comment).

 

BLOG COMMENT POLICY: We respectfully ask that you use your real name (first name only is fine) and not use keywords (Why no keywords?). The only real "comment rules" are be civil -- no personal attacks -- and no advertising. (See the full comment policy here). Opinion and debate are welcome, but attack the idea, not the person.

 

LiveFyre Comments

Comments have been disabled for this post.
Sort: Newest | Oldest

Yep seems like everyone is trying to be a big blogger and stealing peoples bandwidth, mass commenting, etc just because they can't create great content.

Nothing worse then spammers. They are a waste of bandwidth. I guess Dream host is getting better. I tried them once before an had a difficult experience to say the least maybe I'll go back.

Sorry to do that. I will delete all your and others' content. I will not do that since google or dreamhost blocks me. I will do it because you are right.

Have a nice day.

Well, as of 7:30am today, our little splogger buddies appear to be off-line....

Kudos to Dreamhost for taking swift action!

I could not agree more. Jonathan is a great guy and his blog plagiarismtoday is indeed worth spending a lot of time on.

I am appalled at what has happened to you and I fully endorse your views, language and the proposed course of action. It is however a pity that Google does not seem to care. I wonder if they are listening!

I know this feeling... someone stealed content form my old site as well.

all you have to do is put on your site some rights document and maybe talk to a lawyer about it.

good luck!

D*mn! I swear it wasn't there an hour ago.

Looks like all our content is still there...

http://www.magazinelife.net/category/home-and-mor...

Yep seems like everyone is trying to be a big blogger and stealing peoples bandwidth, mass commenting, etc just because they can't create great content.

I hate sploggers, they ruin the blogosphere.

Nothing worse then spammers. They are a waste of bandwidth. I guess Dream host is getting better. I tried them once before an had a difficult experience to say the least maybe I'll go back.

Congratulations.

Sorry to do that. I will delete all your and others' content. I will not do that since google or dreamhost blocks me. I will do it because you are right.

Have a nice day.

Dreamhost works fast !! Now I think I should host on them instead cause mine is giving me trouble...

Well, as of 7:30am today, our little splogger buddies appear to be off-line....

Kudos to Dreamhost for taking swift action!

I could not agree more. Jonathan is a great guy and his blog plagiarismtoday is indeed worth spending a lot of time on.

I am appalled at what has happened to you and I fully endorse your views, language and the proposed course of action. It is however a pity that Google does not seem to care. I wonder if they are listening!

I know this feeling... someone stealed content form my old site as well.

all you have to do is put on your site some rights document and maybe talk to a lawyer about it.

good luck!

D*mn! I swear it wasn't there an hour ago.

Looks like all our content is still there...

http://www.magazinelife.net/category/home-and-mor...

It seems that all of our content has been taken down - what was that - five take-down notices and it was accomplished in less than 8 hours?

I just used your template. Thanks! It looks like the content is already coming down.

Facebook Comments

 

The ARMLS logo indicates a property listed by a real estate brokerage other than Thompson's Realty.
All information should be verified by the recipient and none is guaranteed as accurate by ARMLS.

Copyright 2012 Arizona Regional Multiple Listing Service, Inc. All rights reserved.

Data last updated 2/9/12 5:29 AM PST.

This IDX solution is (c) Diverse Solutions 2012.