Stoopidist Spam of the Week

Pin It

Do people really fall for this sort of stuff? I have to assume they do, or I wouldn't keep getting it.

From today's spam folder:

From: "Roxanne Brewster" BethanyhuffBower@rottentomatoes.com
Date: Mon, 30 Jul 2007 07:58:41 -0600
To: jay@thompsonsrealty.com
Subject: Re: Thank you, we are ready to lend you some cash. URGENT MESSAGE!

Your Credit does not matter to us!

If you have your own business and wish IMMEDIATE ready money to spend ANY way you like or need Extra money to give the business A boost or want A low interest loan – NO STRINGS ATTACHED, here is our deal we can offer you TONIGHT (hurry, this offer will expire NOW):

$41,000+ loan

Hurry, when best deal is gone, it is gone. Simply Call Us…

Don't worry about Approval, your your Credit report will not disqualify You!

Call Us Free on 877-542-xxxx (Jay's note: I xxxx'ed out the number, in case someone stops reading here and picks up the phone…)

Here's your first clue this is stoopid…. never get a loan from someone whose email address ends in "rottentomatoes.com". Heck, that's more unprofessional than a @AOL.com address… (I suspect it doesn't even work, or was hijacked from the true address owner).

Second clue: It's a "reply" email. Of course I never contacted them, so why are they replying? Is this supposed to make me think, "Oh Happy Day! Rotten Tomatoes has finally gotten back to me on my loan request!! Look honey, we can go to Disneyland now!"

Third clue: "Your Credit does not matter to us!"  Of course your credit matters. At least to a legit lender.

Fourth clue: "here is our deal we can offer you TONIGHT (hurry, this offer will expire NOW)". Um, if it's expired NOW, then isn't it…. well…. already expired?

Fifth clue: "your your Credit report will not disqualify You!" See clue #4. And never never do do business business with a "professional" that can't proofread an URGENT MESSAGE. (Ditto if they have a problem with how to capitalize words)

Seriously folks. Don't fall for this sort of crap. No legitimate lender will give you a "$41,000+" loan regardless of your credit, no strings attached on an offer that expires NOW. Remember, if it sounds too good to be true, it is.

Like, Tweet, share...

Pin It

 

Other things you can do...

Search for Homes
Email Updates
RSS

About the Author
Jay Thompson

I'm a real estate broker in Phoenix, Arizona and the publisher of the Phoenix Real Estate Guy blog. I tend to drive too fast and scream at the University of Texas and Denver Broncos football teams. My two kids are smarter than most adults I know and my wife is simply amazing.

The Phoenix Real Estate Guy runs on AgentPress

AgentPress is a specialized WordPress theme for real estate agents and brokers, powered by the industry standard Genesis Framework. With AgentPress on your team, you're empowered to get the most out of WordPress for online marketing.

Genesis provides the secure and search-engine-optimized foundation that powers any successful website. And AgentPress provides the specific listing and lead-generation functionality real estate pros need to succeed.

Find out more about AgentPress here.

Comments

We always appreciate your comments! Phoenix Real Estate Guy uses two commenting systems, Facebook and LiveFyre. LiveFyre is the most robust system (and easy to use!). It allows you to login with Twitter, Facebook, Google+ LinkedIn, OpenId, LiveFyre and as a "Guest". I recommend getting a LiveFyre account, it has some great features (just click the LiveFyre button when you write your comment).

 

BLOG COMMENT POLICY: We respectfully ask that you use your real name (first name only is fine) and not use keywords (Why no keywords?). The only real "comment rules" are be civil -- no personal attacks -- and no advertising. (See the full comment policy here). Opinion and debate are welcome, but attack the idea, not the person.

 

LiveFyre Comments

Comments have been disabled for this post.
Sort: Newest | Oldest

But Jay, I already took the $41K. I needed it to repay something from another really great email come-on I got!

Actually this sounds like it could be a Nigerian 419 fake check scam. I've made 5 million in fake checks this year from these guys. ;) They now offer loans as well as jobs that don't exist, too.

Can you email me the number - it was toll free right? I can call that free from Skype, and check it out, see if it is a Nigerian scammer or not.

Cheers,

Snoskred

Maurice - I relegated it to my spam folder (I use Thunderbird that "learns" spam).

I love the perverse thrill of sending it on to spamcop! You're right, if everyone did that, it would probably help. it will never go away completely, but there is indeed great satisfaction in getting a spammer the boot! Here is my most satisfying moment in the spam wars.

Your post is spot-on about the stupidity aspect but as you say in your post "from today's spam folder", was it already flagged as spam? ;-)

If it was it means that the spammer has already been identified as such, but if it wasn't, the best way to help report these kind of idiots is to send a report via http://www.spamcop.net

Sure, it's another job to do, and I already have SpamArrest installed on my domains but for those that get through, I take the time to report them. The way I see it, if you want to cause the spammers grief, even if ultimately it doesn't stop the dedicated ones, more people need to actively report the abuse. The good thing about Spamcop is that all you need do is copy and paste the full header and the body of the mail and it takes are of ensuring the report reaches the right places. It's perversely satisfying too;-)

But Jay, I already took the $41K. I needed it to repay something from another really great email come-on I got!

Actually this sounds like it could be a Nigerian 419 fake check scam. I've made 5 million in fake checks this year from these guys. ;) They now offer loans as well as jobs that don't exist, too.

Can you email me the number - it was toll free right? I can call that free from Skype, and check it out, see if it is a Nigerian scammer or not.

Cheers,

Snoskred

Maurice - I relegated it to my spam folder (I use Thunderbird that "learns" spam).

I love the perverse thrill of sending it on to spamcop! You're right, if everyone did that, it would probably help. it will never go away completely, but there is indeed great satisfaction in getting a spammer the boot! Here is my most satisfying moment in the spam wars.

Your post is spot-on about the stupidity aspect but as you say in your post "from today's spam folder", was it already flagged as spam? ;-)

If it was it means that the spammer has already been identified as such, but if it wasn't, the best way to help report these kind of idiots is to send a report via http://www.spamcop.net

Sure, it's another job to do, and I already have SpamArrest installed on my domains but for those that get through, I take the time to report them. The way I see it, if you want to cause the spammers grief, even if ultimately it doesn't stop the dedicated ones, more people need to actively report the abuse. The good thing about Spamcop is that all you need do is copy and paste the full header and the body of the mail and it takes are of ensuring the report reaches the right places. It's perversely satisfying too;-)

Facebook Comments

 

The ARMLS logo indicates a property listed by a real estate brokerage other than Thompson's Realty.
All information should be verified by the recipient and none is guaranteed as accurate by ARMLS.

Copyright 2012 Arizona Regional Multiple Listing Service, Inc. All rights reserved.

Data last updated 2/7/12 8:51 PM PST.

This IDX solution is (c) Diverse Solutions 2012.